Shoe Sales, Sesame Street and Some Seriousness

June 8, 2009 at 9:42 pm 3 comments

Sorry for the lack of postings.  I’ve been traveling a lot, which cuts down on my article reading significantly. 

Still, I have a bunch….

A fantastic article on the perils of the Barneys shoe sale.  

Another great shopping review: Mike Albo on the Tommy Hilfiger store.

From Eric, Old Jews Telling Jokes.

I love Barack Obama and I love Sesame Street, so I naturally love this. (Related, from Jezebel, via Valerie.)

Stupid things interns in D.C. do and say.

The new iPhone is not that much cooler than the 3G, phew.  (But it is still cooler.  Thanks for this link so I didn’t have to watch the whole presentation, Bill.)

Sauerkraut as an aphrodisiac.  (via Jezebel)

Networks might shy from Beltway-based TV, but cable networks certainly do not.

I really want to complete a marathon one day, and with this technique, I just might be able to do it…Anyone want to try with me?

I don’t often opine on serious topics here, but if you know anything about my politics, you will know that I’m pro-choice.  The murder of Dr. George Tiller was terrible–no matter what you think about abortion.  I believe that it is perfectly reasonable to not want to have an abortion, but that is a choice for you to make with your doctor and, if appropriate, the man involved.  Terrorizing those who provide women’s health services and intimidating women who are seeking an option is not the right way to push your policy.  Killing someone you disagree with?  That’s vigilante terrorism.  Making the decision to have an abortion is impossibly hard.  I am lucky that I have never been in such a situation, and I genuinely do not know what I would do, but I do know that whatever I decided, it would be my decision and I do not believe legislators, judges or the President has the right to tell me how to make my decision.  Here are two articles that I think everyone should read, whether or not you agree with me:

If abortion becomes illegal, you can bet there will be illegal abortions.  

Gretchen Voss’ late term abortion.

Neither of these purport to push an agenda.  They’re just reporting the facts and are from major newspapers.  I’m not trying to feed you propaganda, because that wouldn’t help my cause.  Do what you want with your body.  I’ll do the same with mine.

Entry filed under: D.C., Jewish, New York City, New York Times, Shopping, Television, Those Crazy Young People.

Hours of Entertainment Muppets, Crocs, Echidnas and Other Wildlife

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  June 9, 2009 at 11:40 am

    A friend told me about DC Intern Blog last week and I LOVE it. I burst out laughing yesterday when I read the one where the high school kids asks the intern giving a tour,

    “Are Ted Kennedy and Edward Kennedy related?”

    “They’re brothers,” says the intern.

    I mean really, who can keep track of all those Kennedys.

    Reply
  • 2. Jerome  |  June 10, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Yeah I’ve seen the DC intern blog, it is basically my favorite thing. Someone from our office submitted this gem today and they just posted it; we have another one on the way:

    http://dcinterns.blogspot.com/2009/06/heard-tennis-anyone.html

    Reply
  • 3. emgusk  |  June 10, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Those are both fantastic. Thanks for sharing, Lauren and Jerome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos


