Battle of the Days

April 24, 2009 at 10:20 am 4 comments

The lasy Saturday in April brings one of my favorite annual events, Maryland Day, where my alma mater goes all out and the world comes to College Park for a good time.  It started as an Ag Day a bunch of years ago and quickly grew to the great event it is today.

Two years ago, as many of you know, I moved to New Jeresy to attend the State University here.  These schools already have quite a few similarites, namely, the colors black and red, excellent women’s basketball programs and a large student body with an enormous proportion of New Jersey natives.

Last year, I realized that Rutgers’ Ag Day fell on the same day as Maryland Day.  Since it was near finals, I realized I wouldn’t be able to travel to The Old Line State, and instead went to my first-ever-Rutgers Ag Day.  It was nice, but it was no Maryland Day.  In fact, even a rainy Maryland Day put Rutgers Ag Day to shame.

Earlier this year, I got either an e-mail, facebook message or some other form of e-communication proclaiming the FIRST EVER RUTGERS DAY!  Pumped that this might actually be worth it, I investigated further, only to find that Rutgers is totally “modeling” Rutgers Day off of Maryland Day.  And if copying is the highest form of flattery, Maryland, FYI, Rutgers has a huge crush on you.

The URLS: marylandday.umd.edu vs. rutgersday.rutgers.edu.  (Okay, that could be a coincidence.)

Time and date: Saturday, April 25, 10 am to 4 pm vs. Saturday, April 25, 10 am to 4 pm. (Hmm.)

Fonts: Both the same. (check out the PDFs of the programs.)

Names: Identical, save for the schools…

Events: Verrrrry similar.

Check out the homepages.  They actually look the same.  Even those little round icons.

So, if any of you are going to Maryland Day this year, take lots of pics.  I’ll make a Flickr of my Rutgers Day photos and then we can see if they’re as eerirly similar as I expect.  Also, I guarantee Maryland Day will be better, but that’s just because they’re the original, and everything is Maryland is better.

Entry filed under: Maryland, New Jersey.

Why the NYT Writes “Nascar” Instead of “NASCAR” News Flash: I’m Not Married at 25. Mark Regnerus Thinks I am WRONG.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Tad and I are going to Maryland Day! We’ll miss you!

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  April 25, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Maybe if all the snotty NJ kids weren’t dissing Rutgers to head to Maryland (because it’s so much better?), this sort of “flattery” wouldn’t be necessary. Motherf*ckers.

    Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  April 25, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    But also, the similarities are quite ridiculous. Particularly the round icons. Good catch, as always, my watchful eye…

    Reply
  • 4. emgusk  |  April 26, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Lauren: Do you and Tad have pics? I took a bunch at Rutgers Day.
    Andrea: Rutgers Day was GREAT this year. I had a fantastic time. I wish they weren’t on the same day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos


