Dead Malls! Broadway! Dancing! Baseball! Ed Koch! Four Square! And More…

March 2, 2009 at 11:46 pm Leave a comment

I love shopping, but I am not so fond of malls.  I also don’t like old things.  But I love old, abandoned malls.  I can’t explain why, but I find them fascinating.  Therefore, I am a big fan of blogs and bloggers that examine old malls and discount stores in America.  It means I don’t have to get in my car and actually go anywhere, but I can glimpse into the past of American retail history.  They’re a huge time suck if you’re interested, but you’ll probably learn something, too.

Here are some of my favorites:

Labelscar.com

Malls of America (Yes, it hasn’t been updated in a few years, but they’re old pictures, so it doesn’t have to be timely.)

Interior abandoned mall shots are even more apocalyptic than the outdoor shots.  This guy somehow got interior shots of the Salisbury Mall in Maryland.  Again, the blogger seems to have disappeared a few years ago…

Finally, the daddy of all tired retail blogs, deadmalls.com.

In other news…

Try to save Broadway or become a Broadway star.

Dana Milbank teaches us how to look like a Conservative.

I love spontaneous organized dancing as much as the next blogger. (Yes, I realize that’s an oxymoron.)

A baseball team that hasn’t played at home since 2005.

I just really like Ed Koch.

Things to do in NYC this week.  Tomorrow at noon, at P.S. 199 in Manhattan National Recess Week is attempting to break the Guinness World Record for the Largest Simultaneous Four Square Game.  Let’s hope the snow clears up!

Elevator operators will soon be a thing of the past; hear from one before he hangs his hat.

Woah.  This is one crazy story.

Conservative guilt?  Note: “24” is one of my favorite television programs.

Man puts cat in bong (thanks, Matt).

Entry filed under: baseball, Internet, Jewish, New York City, New York Times, Politics, Shopping, Sports, Television, Washington Post.

Only Titles Thursday New Format!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

