GREAT Things on the Internet and Mediocre Superbowl Ads

February 4, 2009 at 8:40 pm 4 comments

Best thing today: I LEGO NY

Cool twitter map of the Superbowl from the New York Times. I like the halftime part where it goes “SPRINGSTEEN” across the country.

The World’s Weirdest Hotels.

And now, what all you have been waiting for: The First Annual EmGusk Superbowl Commercial Awards!

I picked two commercials for each category.  Let me know which you prefer from each category in the comments.  (There were many commercials I did not like.  I chose not to post them at all because why re-air yucky things?)

First Category: The One LOL

Bud Light Defenestration

Priceline Shatner Impersonation (and I usually abhor Priceline commericals)

Second Category: Commercials That Made Me Smile

Coke Bugs

NBC Mondays Feelin’ Alright

Final Category: Clever Decade Hopping Ads

Audi Chase

Pepsi Forever Young

I guess the moral of the story is I like commercials where you either really can’t tell what the product is or the product is in every single frame.  Also, now that I’ve watched these all again, I’m unimpressed.  Maybe next year will be better.

Entry filed under: Ads, New York City, New York Times, Sports.

OMG So Much To Post Sorry, It’s Been Awhile

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alex nj  |  February 4, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    i lego ny was cute, but i was expecting something more like this
    http://www.seankenney.com/portfolio/new_york_city_models/

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  February 4, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    So was I! That’s why I was so surprised.

    Reply
  • 3. emgusk  |  February 5, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Alex: That is the coolest thing EVER. Thanks for sharing!
    Andrea: I know. Sigh.

    Reply
  • 4. Allison  |  February 5, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Great post! I love that you blog. I need to look through the videos since I was on a plane back to Virginia Sunday night and missed most of the Super Bowl…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

