The Olympics are So Good.

August 10, 2008 at 11:42 pm 3 comments

I’ve been super busy recently (cousin in town, Olympics on tv, movies to see with friends, shows on Broadway–omg you have to see Spamalot–, friends moving to Wisconsin…) which means that yeah, I’m still reading (most of) the paper, but I’m not actually blogging about what I read. Sorry.

Here’s what happened to me the other day:

Sitting in the little park I usually sit in the morning before work, I watched as a probably crazy man read the New York Post and then proceeded to throw it all on the ground and walk away. Everyone else in the park watched this happen, without much effort to pick up his mess. Minutes later, a homeless guy who I’ve seen in the neighborhood before calmly rose from his seat and began to clean up the paper. He walked over to the trash can, threw away all of the New York Post, but picked up the front page of the New York Times to read back at his seat. Even homeless guys on the Upper West Side have standards when it comes to getting their news.

In other news…

This ONN story from my dad.

On pollution in China and the Olympics from the NYT.

Crazy story about the adoption of a feral child. Link from Lauren.

Study from the UMD Econ department about the “Oprah bump” (or the “Chuck Norris bump”).

Estimate your gender by your browsing history! (I was 57% male on my computer at work, but 100% female on my laptop at home…)

A story about dog poop and the Olympics.

Old guys playing baseball in Brooklyn, yay!

Is Stretching All It’s Cracked Up to Be?

HAPPY 60th BIRTHDAY DAD!!!!!

Entry filed under: New York City, New York Times, Politics, Sports.

A Quickie Just Look at the Guy on the Right

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ted  |  August 13, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    The NYT doesn’t cover very much local news though… the “Metro Section” basically picks out a couple interesting stories that have already been reported in the Post or Daily News or AM New York and expands on them with interviews and reactions. When the Times chooses to cover a local story they cover it from a “oh look at the lives of these poor people!” kind of perspective, as opposed to the “check out the shit goin on in your neighborhood!” sensationalism of the Post or other local papers.

    When I hear gunshots at night at my apartment, I’m gonna check the Post or Daily News to find out who died. The Times usually won’t cover such petty matters.

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  August 16, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Haha, “adoption of a feral child from Lauren” makes it sound like the kid was taken away from ME.

    Reply
  • 3. emgusk  |  August 17, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Ted: yeah, you’re right, but I’m not sure how it applies here.

    Lauren: hahahahaha, I’ll fix that

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

