Championing the Cause For Grammar Geeks

June 26, 2008 at 7:29 pm 2 comments

I have lots of things to post today, but I just had two ridiculous experiences that I would like to share:

– I went to my campus bookstore because I needed a new planner, and I saw a sign that read “Athletic Jersey’s.” This being a university and all, I asked to speak to a manager, because it was just egregious. The manager came, took the sign down and said “Yeah, I was an English major; that was bothering me too.” If it bothered you so much, why didn’t you take it down?! Ugh.

– From there I went to a shoe store down the street. I found the most ridiculous item in shoe wear existence, the NASCAR dress shoe:

Note the steering wheel

I bet some NASCAR person saw someone wearing Tory Burch flats and thought, “Hmm those T things look like a steering wheel.” This is horrible.

In other news:

Slate‘s political ring tones

From Valerie and Gawker: AP Stylebook No Longer “Mentally Retarded” (And no more milquetoast, sad.)

From today’s Times: How to design your very own fonts on the internet! (The article is called “Down With Helvetica”)

More from the Times: Rich kids in California hack into the school computer to change their grades.

From the WaPo: Fancy Toilets in Japan

I’m off to the mall, here’s hoping I make scenes in some other stores, if only for your entertainment.

Entry filed under: 2008 Presidential Election, Fonts, Grammar, New Jersey, New York Times, Politics, Shopping, Slate, Washington Post.

Byline #2 and a Puzzle A News Quiz

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  June 27, 2008 at 10:10 am

    I love your scenes!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  June 27, 2008 at 10:18 am

    God, those shoes are . . . wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

