Just Another Manic Monday

June 23, 2008 at 8:50 pm 1 comment

A MUST see from Phylan: Where the Hell is Matt? (seriously, everyone will enjoy this, unless you’re heartless)

Speaking of Matt, Matt Brown has a good nod to George Carlin today, with my Dad’s favorite comedy bit.

And also about baseball (and still continuing this now two-week theme), an 89 year old organist is still hitting those keys in Omaha. Definitely listen to him play “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.” It’s impossible not to sing along.

My twitter was one that beat NBC News to announcing Tim Russert’s too-early death. Still, I noticed that day that Wikipedia had it far before anyone else, and this story explains why.

One of my favorite professors AND one of my good friends in graduate school made today’s Times because they did a study together on the imbalance of op-ed pages! Read what they discovered. (And John, I saved the real paper for you too.)

Moving on to The WaPo, finding grammatical (and other) errors on restaurant menus.

More grammar from the WaPo: I always love Gene Weingarten, but this Sunday was particularly awesome.

Why the fonts in the Indiana Jones movies are incorrect (ooh this is so nerdy, I love it!).

Last, but not least, please vote for Pancake in this Animal Planet poll. And no, it’s not necessary to watch the other videos; I just did and the others are boring and stupid. Pancake is far superior. Plus, who the eff cares that a cat can fetch, all dogs can do that. (Not to mention that said cat is apparently male, yet wearing a dress. Excuse me while I cough up this hairball.)

Entry filed under: baseball, D.C., Fonts, Grammar, New York Times, Reading, Sports, Washington Post.

Bethesda Makes the International Press (and a Baseball Article Roundup) Byline #2 and a Puzzle

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. John Maycroft  |  June 23, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Hey Emily, thanks for the compliment. I had Bob check it out too and he was pleased. I know I’m biased, but this is a very well-done blog you have here. Zonino!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

