New Jersey Transit

June 10, 2008 at 11:08 pm 2 comments

I had a lot of articles to post tonight.  Unfortunately I had some personal business to take care of in Hoboken this evening.  Although I don’t usually talk about my life on here, I’d like to explain why this posting is weak.  I work in Manhattan, and usually to get from Manhattan to Hoboken, you simply take the PATH train.  Well, it was approximately 837 degrees outside today, so the PATH train tracks were on fire.  Literally ON FIRE.  This means, the convenient PATH was just not a path at all.  It was more of an IMPASS.  Instead of going straight from Manhattan to Hoboken, I had to go from Manhattan to Secaucus to Hoboken.  (For those of you familiar with these cities, you know this is a silly route to take.  For those of you NOT familiar with these cities, don’t they have funny names?!)  After I took care of business in Hoboken, I made my way to Secaucus to head home to Central Jersey.  I was proud of myself for having the time to use the restroom facilities and to make it in time to the express train to my city without a sweat.  Little did I know that it was the opposite of an express.  We made it one stop to Newark where we were told that the train was delayed indefinitely because all trains from Philadelphia to New York were stopped due to a power outage.  (My personal favorite announcement went something along the lines of “we will start moving again sometime between five minutes and two hours.”)  In that indefinite time between five minutes and two hours, those of us on the train became very good friends.  I shared my newspaper, I became bff with the gal across the aisle, and the girl next to me started and finished Anna Karenina.  Then we started moving!  Praise Jesus!  (And I’m a Jew.)  Once we got out of the train station the storm was unbelievable.  The rain was so strong, water was pouring into the train.  But don’t worry, we didn’t get very far, because then a tree fell onto the tracks.  No, I’m not even kidding.  This story doesn’t get much better from here, but NJ Transit actually got me home from Secaucus pretty quickly considering we were experiencing extreme weather.  It could have been a lot worse and they deserve major props for getting me home in one piece with a power outage, a monsoon, and falling timber.  Plus, it took so long, by the time I got off the train, it had stopped raining.

Entry filed under: New Jersey, New York City.

OMG Hil is SO Pressed for Barack An Olio

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos


