Newspaper Felon

May 5, 2008 at 11:29 am 2 comments

Not only was Saturday’s Times yoinked from my possession, but Sunday’s Times was stolen as well. Granted, this gave me more time to play Mario Kart, but still, can you people stop stealing my newspaper?  Because I was not a thorough newspaper reader this weekend, I’ve compiled a list of articles from earlier in the week:

From Auschwitz, a Torah as Strong as Its Spirit This is an unbelievable story (Wednesday New York Times Metro Section)

From Dad: It’s Funny How Funny Just the Facts Can Be The guy who finds all the contradictory clips on the Daily Show (Wednesday Washington Post Style Section)

I don’t know why he’s reading Real Simple, but NJ Alex sent me this article about 101 New Uses for Everyday Things. (From some issue of Real Simple, but I have no idea which one)

This great 60 Minutes story last night about Dr. Paul Farmer who brings health care throughout the world, is amazing. He does phenomenal work. But it mostly made my roommates and me mad because we have trouble bringing health care to the poor in our own country. Sigh.

Entry filed under: 60 Minutes, Health Care, Jewish, New York Times, Television, Washington Post.

Man Grows Finger Back Bride on the Metro, Children Reading, and Latino Baseball Players

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben K  |  May 6, 2008 at 1:08 am

    I played Mario Kart tonight…think I like the SN version better. Not graphic wise obviously, but gameplay wise.

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  May 6, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Um, that Torah story is amazing. First, this kid–

    “One of his sons, Yitzchok, then 13, wondered if the cemetery was the same size as in 1939. They went online and found land records that showed that the present-day cemetery was far smaller than the original one.”

    –is way smarter than I will ever be. It would never occur to me that a cemetery would get SMALLER over time. Also–

    “. . . He placed an ad in a Polish newspaper in the area “asking if anyone had parchment with Hebrew letters . . . The response came the next day from a priest. He said, ‘I know exactly what you’re looking for, four panels of a Torah.’ I couldn’t believe it.”

    Craziness. Very cool story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos


