Banning Tag?!?

April 15, 2008 at 9:42 am 1 comment

This is the worst news I’ve read all day:

At McLean School, Playing Tag Turns Into Hot Potato

They are actually banning tag at schools. First, banning dodgeball was bad enough, but TAG?!? Come on. Big deal kids get skinned knees and fall over. It’s life. Also, if we have this huge problem with childhood obesity, should we really be restricting a game where kids run around and actually enjoy exercising? If they had banned tag at Carderock, I would have been bored silly. Granted, I’m sure we could have found something else to do, but tag was so much fun. Oh, and even though the article calls “jailbreaks” a new tag-tactic, I’ll have to counter and say that we were jailbreaking way back in 1989, even though I consider jailbreaking cheating, it still happened.  (Which means they probably were doing the same when our parents played tag too.) When I have kids, if their school bans tag, I will switch schools. (Or at least institute an after-school-tag-club in my backyard.)

Entry filed under: Sports, Washington Post.

I’m Back and I’ve Been Reading German Schoolboy, 13, Corrects NASA’s Asteroid Figures

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Matt Brown  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    And get off my lawn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

