I’m Back and I’ve Been Reading

April 14, 2008 at 10:33 pm 3 comments

First, a local newspaper quotes me (The Home News Tribune) about being a “millennial” during this presidential election and I sound like an idiot.

From a few-weeks-old-Times-Mag: Do I just like this article because it mentions Bethesda?  No, but you know that gave it brownie points in my book.  “Can Barack Obama Capture the Lunch-Pail Democrats of Pennsylvania?”

From The Economist: Americans and the British don’t really have so much in common.  Unfortunately, I can’t find it on the website, so I would recommend taking a trip to the library, or borrowing it from me.  (It’s the March 29, 2008 issue.)

Back to The Times: Quirky Texas reporter emulates Charles Kuralt.  Tee Pee motels ensue.

I fly Delta and at the same time they make a $3.1 billion agreement to make the world’s biggest airline.

I like to read about how The Economist views American domestic issues like mixed-income housing.

From The Washington Post: which diners to eat at on Route 130 in New Jersey, ending, conveniently, in the city where I currently reside.  (Dad noticed that the author’s name is Deiner…Diner, Deiner, get it?)

This guy wrote 200,000 books, (and his name is NOT James Patterson) but really he used a computer algorithm to write most of them.  Here’s what I think his best title is: “The 2007-2012 Outlook for Tufted Washable Scatter Rugs, Bathmats and Sets That Measure 6-Feet by 9-Feet or Smaller in India.”  Also, he decided he’ll be able to write romance novels based on algorithm too!  Awesome.  I’ve been saying that for years.  (Or at least since I worked at a large book chain and we collectively decided that those romance novels are virtually identical, just change the names, time period, and erm, body parts.)

Entry filed under: 2008 Presidential Election, Economist, Food, New Jersey, New York Times, Politics, Reading, Washington Post.

Bienvenido a Miami Banning Tag?!?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  April 15, 2008 at 8:52 am

    There’s nothing “local” about THNT, ok, that thing is read worldwide! Not really, but I like your quote. You are so now.

    Reply
  • 2. Jerome  |  April 15, 2008 at 10:44 am

    You should have plugged your blog in that article!

    Reply
  • 3. emgusk  |  April 15, 2008 at 10:49 am

    haha! Thanks Andrea! And Jerome, I should have plugged YOUR blog in that article =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

