Project Runway, Pulitizers, and More

April 9, 2008 at 12:18 pm 4 comments

West Point Cadets visit Jersey City, this time from WNYC instead of The Times.

The state map from the 1964-65 World’s Fair in Queens is being renovated. (Good news for Dad!)

Another one for Dad: Shea Stadium chutzpah (check out the multimedia too: the scoreboard from opening day in 1964).

Project Runway try-outs in the city! I already can’t wait for next season.

Scrabble versus Scrabulous online. Looks like Scrabulous is winning.

Week after week, this column remains my favorite. It’s easily the best part of a Monday, and it’s also great fodder in an argument against anyone that doesn’t like New York City.

An excerpt from a conversation with Matt Brown, who loves the WaPo like a fat kid loves cake:

Matt: post 6, nyt 2 no big deal. me: wait what Matt: pulitzers

Yes, he likes to trash talk the NYT. But I do have to say, the Post articles that won Pulitzers were excellent, especially Gene Weingarten’s on Joshua Bell in the Metro. (For the record, I’m a huge fan of both newspapers, I just happen to live in the NYC metro region, so I subscribe to The Times instead of The Post.)

Entry filed under: baseball, D.C., Internet, New York City, New York Times, NPR, Reading, Sports, Washington Post.

Charles Osgood Makes Everything Into a Song Subway Cars in the Ocean and Spring Break Primary

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  April 9, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    I loved that Weingarten article. And all the other Weingarten articles. I read the Post Mag backwards solely to see the best articles first (Weingerten and Jeanne Marie Laskas–her column often brings giggles and tears, together), then flip to Date Lab, Making It (or whatever it’s called), and First Person Singular. THEN the food review. THEN the main story, if it’s any good. Last week’s was REALLY good, I was crying…..Thank G-d a GW Law student was around to save the guy.

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    The NY Times-WaPo rivalry used to be like the MD-Duke rivalry, but now it’s more like the UNC-Duke rivalry

    Reply
  • 3. emgusk  |  April 9, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Andrea: good reading skillz, ‘cept I am no fan of Jeanne Marie Laskas. Her articles usually make me cry in a “why did I waste my time reading this??” kind of way. Sorry, to each her own! I do love the consistency of Date Lab though: it’s impossible to find true love through the WaPoMag.

    Lauren: Yes. That is spot on. And there are like 5 of us who get that, including my dad and your dad.

    Reply
  • 4. Andrea  |  April 10, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    That’s because I’m an old lady, and I like to cry about reading how someone’s 6-year-old learned a lesson. Yep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

