Running and Disney

March 28, 2008 at 5:09 pm Leave a comment

An article from yesterday’s Thursday Styles about running:

Yes, Running Can Make You High

(duh.)

And this entertaining Slate diatribe on the Disney parks.  Ok, you know I wouldn’t really post it if it was THAT bitter.  Here are some of my favorite quotes:

On the “town” of Harambe in Animal Kingdom:

“Having traveled to Africa myself, I can tell you that Harambe gets only two minor details wrong. The first is that Africa has many more flies than this. And the second is that Africa has black people. Given the otherwise remarkable accuracy of Harambe’s set design, I’m sort of surprised that Disney didn’t manufacture 15,000 animatronic Africans. OK, so they did import a few actual, nonrobot Africans to work the snack stands. Jambo! But perhaps the bigger issue is: Where are the black tourists visiting the park? I’ve seen maybe two black families all day. As in the rest of Disney World, there are literally more French people here than African-Americans.”

On Downtown Disney:

“Because it’s Disney, and we all feel safe and emboldened, no one’s afraid to venture into what might be perceived as alien territory…Nerdy white people stride confidently into the ‘black’ club. Older couples wade onto dance floors packed with whippersnappers. Gay dudes sashay through the redneck-y rock club. (When I say that, I’m not trying to play on a stereotype. I literally watched three gay men prance about and do ballet jumps while the house band played Lynyrd Skynyrd. These guys were egging each other on, trying to get a rise out of the crowd, but none of the lumpy heteros seemed to pay any mind.)”

On the Disney parks as a whole:

“After spending the past five days here, I’ve come to the conclusion that Disney World teaches kids three things: 1) a meaningless, bubble-headed utopianism, 2) a grasping, whining consumerism, and 3) a preference for soulless facsimiles of culture and architecture instead of for the real thing. I suppose it also teaches them that monorails are cool. So there’s that.”

“More than 100,000 people visit Disney World every day. I went when I was a kid. Nearly all my friends went. A few went more than once. Heck, I know Jews who weren’t bar mitzvahed but did go to Epcot.”

(Don’t worry, loyal readers, I’m still head-over-heels for Disney.  But I pray to God that I’m not going to turn into one of those obsessive types that decorates their home a la Mouse…)

Entry filed under: Fun, New York Times, Slate.

Wow, J. Crew. Wow. Happy Opening Day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweets

Flickr Photos

More Photos

